2018 Rome-based Agencies Award of Excellence

IFAD Asset Request Portlet

Asset Publisher

2018 Rome-based Agencies Award of Excellence

Rome-based agencies showcasing collaboration at country level

Executive heads of UN Rome-based agencies, official field visit, Ethiopia, September 2017 ©IFAD/FAO/WFP/Petterik Wiggers

The call for nominations has been extended until 7 June.

The Award of Excellence for country-level collaboration was established by FAO, IFAD and WFP in 2012. Held every two years, the Award of Excellence recognizes the Rome-based agency country teams that exemplify strong collaboration and embrace the value of partnerships.

IFAD is the focal point for the organization of the 2018 ceremony and will receive nominations and prepare them for the selection process. 

Eligibility and basic criteria

Only country teams representing all three agencies can be considered for the Award. The nominations for the RBA Award of Excellence must cover the period 2016-2017.

Teams must exemplify how they have reduced duplication of efforts and are using resources more effectively by building on the strengths and comparative advantages of the three agencies, thereby delivering in a coordinated way at the country or regional level.

The nomination form should be completed to describe:

  • the extent of country-level collaboration;
  • innovation in engaging new types of partnerships and alignment with Sustainable Development Goals, including, in particular SDG2; and
  • impact on beneficiaries.

Submission of applications

Applications may be submitted by country teams and must be signed by Country Representatives of FAO, IFAD and WFP. Nominations must be submitted by 7 June 2018 by email to the Award Secretariat at: [email protected].

Download the application form

The application form can also be obtained from the Award Secretariat, RBA Secretariat, IFAD, Via Paolo di Dono 44, 00142. Email: [email protected]

Previous winners include

  • The 2016 RBA Award of Excellence was presented to the Madagascar country team, for effectively leveraging their unique strengths to support the people of Madagascar. 
  • The 2014 RBA Award of Excellence was presented to the team in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC), in recognition of its partnership to address hunger and malnutrition.
  • The 2012 RBA Award of Excellence was presented to the Mozambique country team.

For more information see RBA Award websites: